Home / Georgia / Winners of EU Prize for Peace Journalism for 2018 are announced

Winners of EU Prize for Peace Journalism for 2018 are announced

On 29 January, the EU Delegation to Georgia and the EU Monitoring Mission (EUMM) held an award ceremony for the winners of the ‘EU Prize for Journalism 2018’ in the Georgian capital of Tbilisi.

The EU Delegation awarded winners in six categories covering print, broadcast, online, and photo journalism. The winners of the EU Prize for Journalism 2018 received a cash prize of approximately 3800 GEL (€1250) each.

In addition, the EUMM awarded the prize for the ‘Special Prize for Peace Journalism’ for conflict-sensitive journalism which contributes to confidence building and peace.

This year’s winner is journalist Nika Gablishvili from DIA TV, Gori. The prize will give him the opportunity to participate in a one-month fellowship at the headquarters of the Institute for War and Peace Reporting in London.

The ‘EU Prize for Journalism’ was launched in 2012 by the EU Delegation and is the first of its kind in Georgia. The prize recognises works, which have contributed to promoting a better understanding of the values of the EU, and reflect high standards of journalistic ethics and professionalism. The EUMM ‘Special Prize for Peace Journalism’ was introduced in 2013.