Home / Georgia / Where Georgian Citizens Will Have Visa-free Access?

Where Georgian Citizens Will Have Visa-free Access?

Georgian citizens will be able to access to 29 countries and territories without any visa requirements any more.

Below are presented the list of EU Member States, non-EU countries, and candidate countries of the Schengen zone, where Georgian citizens will be able to travel visa-free.

EU member states: Austria,  Belgium, Germany, Hungary, Greece, Slovenia, Denmark, Spain, Estonia, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Portugal, Slovenia, Poland, Czech Republic, Hungary, France, Sweden, Finland.

Non-EU countries: Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Switzerland.

Schengen candidate countries: Bulgaria, Cyprus, Romania, Croatia.

The mostly required documents for visa-free travel are: active bio-metric passports that are valid till the day of return to Georgia and its validity must not be less than the 6 months.

What will the passenger be asked when entering the EU / Schengen area when border control checking applies.

The representative of the border control checking might be interested in the aim of the passenger’s travel (eg .: a business trip, tourism, visiting friends or relatives, a training course for up to 90 days).

Thus, the passenger might be asked by the border officer to represent the documents in order to prove the reason of traveling.

Those following documents might be the return ticket to Georgia,  hotel reservation, travel insurance, financial maintenance document (eg .: cash, travel checks, active electronic banking cards)

Georgian citizens need to follow the several rules according to the brochure while traveling to the Schengen Area with no visa:

  • Georgians can stay in the Schengen area for 90 days maximum;
  • In case the traveler stays permanently for 90 days, it will be possible to re-travel in the Schengen zone again after 90 days pass
  • Visa-free travel does not mean the permission of working or studying in Schengen member countries for along time.
  • If a Georgian citizen stays longer than 90 days in a Schengen country, he/she will be deported and be banned from entering the Schengen zone for five years. As an alternative, the person might be fined € 3,000.

Thus, soon it will be possible for Georgian citizens to travel to the Schengen zone visa- free, so the country’s authorities have started providing its citizens with necessary information regarding visa-free trips.