Home / Economy / The Association Agreement Signed

The Association Agreement Signed

Georgia has signed the Association deal with the EU. The 1,135 page document has been signed by Georgia’s PM Irakli Gharibashvili, President of the EU Commission  Jose Manuel Barroso and President of the EU Council Herman Van Rompuy.

The Association Agreement between the EU and Georgia will be signed by each of the 28 member states of the EU.

After the completion of the deal, the pact will be ratified by the Parliament.

Before the agreement comes into effect, it must be ratified by 28 member states of the EU. First Latvia will ratify the deal on July 3, while Georgia plans to ratify it in July. In 2015, the deal is expected to completely come into effect, however, in autumn, this year, some parts of it including the Deep and Comprehensive Free Trade Area (DCFTA) portion will enter into force.

Georgia and the EU have already drafted the Association agenda that is a 3-year plan of priority issues, the deal requires us to handle in this period of time.

The decisive negotiations regarding Association of Georgia with the EU were conducted on November 29th of 2013, in the city of Vilnius at “Eastern Partnership Summit.”